JUST THE FACTS ON ROAD USAGE CHARGES

Overview

A road usage charge is a proposed per mile charge that, if adopted, would be assessed for
using public roads within Washington State.

The intent of a road usage charge is that it would co-exist with the gas tax and tax payers
would only pay one or the other - NOT BOTH. The reason for both the fuel tax and the
road usage charge is so that out of state drivers and vehicles heavier than 10,000 pounds
using gasoline, would still pay for their use of the roads through the fuel tax.

Motorists will have choices about how they report and pay for their mileage. GPS and
other location technology are not required to implement a road usage charge.

The Commission has been studying road usage charging since 2012, at the direction of the
Legislature because of concerns about the long-term viability of the motor fuel tax arising
from improvements to vehicle fuel economy.

The Commission believes it is time to learn how a road usage charge might work in the real
world, and will propose that the Legislature authorize a demonstration project.

Why is the state looking to move to a road usage charge to pay for road
maintenance and improvements?

As there are more cars on the road that consume less gas, or don’t use gas at all, gas tax
revenues are flat and expected to decline over time. This means less funding to pay for
the maintenance and expansion of our roads and bridges, all while our state’s population
grows, congestion increases, and our roads wear out.

Paying by the mile ensures every car on the road pays their fair share for supporting our
road system.

Under a road usage charge system, it doesn’t matter what kind of car you drive (new, old,
gas guzzler, hybrid, electric, etc.) nor what your fuel source is (gas, diesel, electricity, etc.)
— everyone pays the same amount per mile.

What could a road usage charge mean for me in terms of my monthly costs as
compared to the current 37.5 cent per gallon gas tax (assuming the road usage charge
mileage rate is set to be the same price as what | now pay per gallon)?

For people that drive about 1,000 miles per month, the differences in costs are shown in
the table below. Cost changes range from: a reduction in costs for drivers of pickups/SUVs
at 15 mpg; about the same costs for drivers of cars that get average mileage; to an
increase in costs of about 6 to 11 dollars per month for drivers of cars that get higher
mileage.

Current fuel Road usage
Miles per Miles per tax (orflatrate charge per Difference

Type of car gallon month for electric) month per Month
Pick-up / SUV 15.0 1000 S 25.00 $ 19.00 S (6.00)
Average car 19.5 1000 S 19.23 S 19.00 S (0.23)
Fuel efficient car 30.0 1000 S 12.50 S 19.00 S 6.50
Efficient Hybrid 45.0 1000 S 833 S 19.00 S 10.67
Electric N/A 1000 S 833 S 19.00 S 10.67



Does a road usage charge mean my driving habits and location will always be

tracked?

e No. You will have a choice of how to pay the road usage charge and some involve no
technology or mileage reporting at all.

e But even with the use of technology, the only data collected is your total mileage
according to:
1) If you are traveling in the state of Washington
2) If you are traveling on the public road network.

e Specific location data or driving habits are not recorded nor collected under a road usage
charge.

Proposed Demonstration Project
e The Commission will submit a road usage charge demonstration project proposal to the
Legislature in January, 2015 with these key components:

o 12 month duration of the demonstration itself, with more time required for
advance planning and evaluation.

o Involve up to 2,000 Washington State residents from up to five regions within
Washington State to ensure urban, rural, and border areas are included in the test.

o Test all four road usage charge payment options that have been part of the
Commission study:

A: Annual Permit (no technology involved) — flat charge for unlimited use of the
roads;

B: Odometer Read (no technology involved) — vehicle operator self-reports
their annual mileage at the time they renew their vehicle registration and pays
the mileage fee based on the reported miles;

C: Automated Distance Charge (involves technology) — the number of total
miles driven on Washington public roads are recorded and then transmitted via
in-vehicle mileage reporting technology, with a bill generated periodically (e.g.,
quarterly);

D: Smartphone App (involves technology) — a smartphone app would be used
for total mileage collection in lieu of manual reporting for Method B, or
electronic recording for Method C.

o Under options C and D above, actual location data (i.e.: where you drive) would not
be recorded. All that would be identified is if travel occurred in state or out of
state, and whether or not it was on a public road or private road.

o Washington State residents would voluntarily participate in the demonstration
project to help the state better understand the pros, cons, and challenges of
migrating to a per-mile charge rather than staying with the current per gallon gas
tax.



